History & Demographic

Iowa-Grant School District is located in Southwestern Wisconsin in both Grant and Iowa Counties. The District serves students from the Villages of Cobb, Linden, Rewey, Livingston, and Montfort, parts of Edmund, and portions of the Towns of Wingville, Castle Rock, Eden, Highland, Lima, Liberty, Linden, Mifflin, and Clifton. The District encompasses about 195 square miles in one of the most prosperous agricultural areas of the state.

With approximately 120 employees and an enrollment of nearly 900, the Iowa-Grant District provides a comprehensive program for students in early childhood through twelfth grade. Facilities include the High School, which opened in 1960 and is noted for its unique architectural features and open concept design, and the Elementary/Middle School (IGEMS), which opened in the fall of 1992 on the same 40-acre site.

IGEMS offers its students (about 550) many new programs including before-school breakfasts, all day-every day kindergarten, computer instruction, a central media center, daily physical education activities, plus a comprehensive Talented and Gifted program. A positive learning environment enhances student learning in reading, language arts, music, mathematics, science, health, social studies, languages, and many other courses. Our students also have an opportunity to pursue a wide variety of explorations such as band, chorus, athletics, Destination Imagination, and mathematics teams.

A Brief Historical Overview of Iowa-Grant School District

The Iowa-Grant School District is located in western Iowa and eastern Grant Counties in southwestern Wisconsin. This District, formed in 1958, is a consolidation of 26 former rural and village school districts. At the time of the consolidation it was the largest consolidation in the state in terms of the number of districts involved. Geographically the District contains slightly less than 200 square miles consisting primarily of agricultural lands and undeveloped woodlands. There are five incorporated villages within the boundaries of the District, those being Cobb, Linden, Livingston, Montfort, and Rewey.

The population of these villages ranges from 210 to 650. The total population of the district is estimated to be approximately 3400 people. The area was originally settled by German and Norwegian farmers on the highlands and by Welsh and Cornish miners in the hilly areas where the mineral deposits were located. The present day population continues to reflect the ethnic origins of the original settlers. The unincorporated hamlet of Mifflin was at one time the largest community in Wisconsin, prior to the demise of lead and zinc mines in the late 1800's.

The Iowa-Grant School System serves as the social and entertainment hub for the District. High School athletic and music events draw near capacity crowds. The community is also involved in the schools through a variety a venues including the Iowa-Grant Elementary/Middle School Parent Club, the Iowa-Grant Booster Club, and the Iowa-Grant Music Parents' Club. Parents and other community members serve or have served in a variety of capacities over the years including, but not limited to, several facilities study committees, the calendar advisory committee, various vocational education advisory committees, the North Central/SEC steering committee, and the emergency plan development committee.

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2021 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.